Meat and Poultry Industry News

PSA announces award winners ahead of annual meeting this month in Corpus Christi

July 7, 2014
/ Print / Reprints /
/ Text Size+

The Poultry Science Association (PSA) released a list of the recipients of a number of annual awards and other honors in poultry science and related disciplines.  The winners will be honored at a July 16 awards celebration during PSA’s annual meeting, which will be held on July 14-17 at the Omni Corpus Christi Hotel in Corpus Christi, Texas.

“On behalf of PSA, it is an honor for me to recognize this year’s outstanding group of award winners.  To PSA’s new Fellows, who are being recognized for a lifetime of contributions to poultry science, to this year’s research and teaching award winners, and to our student winners, who are just beginning their careers in this exciting field, we congratulate you on your personal achievements and thank you for your dedication and commitment to poultry science and the broader poultry industry,” said PSA President Michael O. Smith.

New PSA Fellows: A maximum of five PSA members may be named Fellow at any give PSA annual meeting.  This year’s new PSA Fellows are:

  • John B. Carey, Ph.D. (Texas A&M University)
  • Mark E. Cook, Ph.D. (University of Wisconsin)
  • Michael P. Lacy, Ph.D. (University of Georgia)
  • Sally L. Noll, Ph.D. (University of Minnesota)

Other Honors and Award Winners

  • American Egg Board Research Award – Guodong Zhang, Ph.D. (U.S. Food & Drug Administration)
  • American Feed Industry Association Poultry Nutrition Research Award – Joseph S. Moritz, Ph.D. (West Virginia University)
  • American Poultry Historical Society Award – Brice Medlock (Chore Time Equipment)
  • Evonik Degussa Award for Achievement in Poultry Science – Kirk C. Klasing, Ph.D. (University of California-Davis)
  • Frank Perdue Live Poultry Food Safety Award – Guillermo Tellez, Ph.D. (University of Arkansas)
  • Hy-Line International Research Award – Ryan N. Dilger, Ph.D. (University of Illinois)
  • National Chicken Council Broiler Research Award – Samuel E. Aggrey, Ph.D. (University of Georgia)
  • National Turkey Federation Research Award – Jesse L. Grimes, Ph.D. (North Carolina State University)
  • Novus International Teaching Award – Christine Alvarado, Ph.D. (Texas A&M University)

·         Phibro Extension Award – Michael J. Wineland, Ph.D. (North Carolina State University)

·         Poultry Welfare Research Award – Heng-wei Cheng, Ph.D. (USDA-ARS)

·         PSA Early Achievement Award for Research – Lisa R. Bielke, Ph.D., (University of Arkansas)

·         PSA Early Achievement Award for Teaching – Lisa Worley-Davis (North Carolina State University)

·         Tyson Foods Inc. Support Personnel Award – Rodney E. Wolfe (University of Arkansas)

·         USPOULTRY Distinguished Poultry Industry Career Award – David J. Burnham (House of Raeford)

·         Zoetis Fundamental Science Award – Walter G. Bottje, Ph.D. (University of Arkansas)

 Honorary Members

·         PSA Honorary Member – James C. Grimm (Texas Poultry Federation)

·         PSA Honorary Member – Bob Palm (Pilgrim’s Pride Corporation)

Student Awards

  • Alltech Student Research Manuscript Award – Kathryn J. Meloche (Auburn University)
  • Maurice Stein Fellowship Award – Indu Upadhyaya (University of Connecticut)
  • Jones-Hamilton Co. Graduate Student Travel Grant Award
    • Gerardo Casco – Texas A&M University
    • Xi Chen – Purdue University
    • Megan DeVisser – University of Saskatchewan
    • Ingrid Y. Martinez Rojas – Universidad Nacional Autnoma de Mexico 
    • Basheer M. Nusairat – North Carolina State University
    • Kurt R. Perryman – Auburn University
    • Prafulla Regmi – Michigan State University
    • Emma L. Wils-Plotz – University of California-Davis

 Winners of the following student awards will be announced at the awards banquet:

  • Aviagen Turkeys Communications Award – TBA at the Banquet
  • Student Research Certificates of Excellence – TBA at the Banquet
  • Student Research Certificates of Participation – TBA at the Banquet

PSA Meeting in 2015: The 2015 Annual Meeting of the Poultry Science Association will be held at the Galt House in Louisville, Kentucky, July 27-30. 

Source: PSA

Recent Articles by Industry News

You must login or register in order to post a comment.



Image Galleries


Brenneman analyzes Butterball’s new animal care, well-being program

Rod Brenneman, CEO of Butterball, discusses his company's new Animal Care and Well-Being Program, his company's certification by the American Humane Association and further animal-handling initiatives, all officially announced in September 2013.

More Podcasts

National Provisioner

10-14 NP cover

October 2014

Check out the October 2014 issue of The National Provisioner, featuring our annual State of the Industry reports!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Independent Processor

October 2014 IP cover

October 2014

Check out the October 2014 issue of Independent Processor, with features on private labels, and the newest bacon trends!

Table Of Contents Subscribe

Provisioner Store

The National Provisioner Source Book

The Sourcebook is an exclusive buyer’s guide and reference tool for product and supplier information in the meat, poultry and seafood marketplace.

More Products


A complete reference guide to supplies. Go to NP's Sourcebook now to check out the latest and greatest in the meat and poultry processing business.


Facebook icon Twitter icon  YouTube iconLinkedIn icon google +

Vertical Sector Focus: Critical Infrastructures

criticalhomepagethumbFrom terrorism to vandalism, it’s preparedness, response, training and partnerships. Learn about some of the critical security issues facing this sector.

Visit the Critical Infrastructure page to read more.