American Meat Science Association (AMSA) new board members began their terms at the conclusion of the 2013 AMSA 66th Reciprocal Meat Conference (RMC) in Auburn, Alabama.

The new members to AMSA’s Board of Directors include:

President Elect: Brad Morgan, Ph.D., Senior Food Safety and Production Enhancement Specialist, Zoetis


  • T. Dean Pringle, Ph.D., Professor, The University of Georgia
  • John Scanga, Ph.D., Senior Technical Consultant, Elanco Animal Health
  • John Stika, Ph.D., President, Certified Angus Beef, LLC

Robert Delmore (2013-14 President), Scott Eilert (2013-14 Past President), Casey Frye Treasure and directors Betsy Booren (RMC 2014 Chair), Ann Brackenridge, Jerry Cannon, Dana Hanson, Steve Larsen and Susan Shivas will continue their terms on the board. Benjy Mikel concluded his term on the board at the end of the AMSA 66th RMC.

Delmore, Board President, is an enthusiastic supporter of meat science and when asked his vision for the future of AMSA he stated “it is one where we are able to strike a balance between achieving the goals of the association’s strategic plan and keeping our rich traditions.”

Source: AMSA