Kevin Western of Western’s Meat Market & Smokehouse, Greentop, Mo., was recently elected president of the American Association of Meat Processors at the 75th American Convention of Meat Processors and Suppliers’ Exhibition in Milwaukee, Wis. Western worked his way through the AAMP Board chairs, serving as the Association’s 1st Vice President and Treasurer before he took charge of his Presidential duties on June 21, 2014.

Western has worked in some capacity at Western’s since the age of 11. From early in his career, Kevin has taken pride in producing the meat products that have won Western’s numerous state and national awards. Originally, Western’s Smokehouse was a local retail store and butcher shop that offered the finest selection of hickory smoked and fresh meat to the area. Over the years, they have created their own brand of smokehouse flavors for Jerky, Sausage, and Barbeque Sauces. Their recipes have won awards all over the world.

On the local level, giving back has always been important to Western. He is a member of Downing Christian Church, a member of Kirksville Chamber of Commerce, and involved with Missouri tourism. His hobbies include hunting dogs and field trialing.

Western has been very active with AAMP. He has served on numerous committees and presented at many AAMP conventions. Western believes in hard work, dedication and sound thought process to help guide his life.

Western succeeds Tim Haen, Haen Meat Packing, Inc., Kaukauna, WI, who will remain on the Board of Directors as the Immediate Past President. Erica Hering, Ralph’s Packing Company, Perkins, OK, took over the office of Treasurer. Doug Hankes, Thrushwood Farms Quality Meats, Galesburg, IL, was elected as the 1st Vice-President; Louis Muench, Louie’s Finer Meats, Inc., Cumberland, WI, was elected as 2nd Vice President; and Chad Lottman, C&C Processing, Inc., Diller, NE, was elected as 3rd Vice President.

The newly-elected Operator Directors are Linn Merindorf, Merindorf Meats & More, Mason, MI; Dwight Ely, Ely Farm Products, Newtown, PA; and Matthew Elvbakken, Tizer Meats, Helena, MT. The newly-elected Supplier Director is Kevin Washam, Tipper Tie, Inc., Apex, NC.

Continuing on the Board as Operator Directors are Rachael Lee, Steve’s Meat Market, Ellendale, MN; Richard Leiding, Leiding’s Meats & Catering, Danville, IL; Rick Reams, RJ’s Meats & Groceries, Hudson, WI; and John Walke, Walke Brothers Meat Processing, Claremore, OK. Continuing on the Board as Supplier Directors are Bob Koch, Multivac, Inc., Kansas

Source: AAMP