The Meat Industry Suppliers Alliance Foundation announced it has awarded seven $10,000 scholarships that will be used towards completing the winners' respective degrees within the meat sciences discipline.  The scholarship winners are:

Kaylee Brunker, Oklahoma State University
Jennifer Vuia-Riser, University of Tennessee
Tommy Fletcher, Texas Tech University
Chandler Steele, Texas A&M University
Keelyn Hanlon, Texas Tech University
Maggie Weinroth, Colorado State University
Kylie Philipps, University of Florida

"These scholarships clearly demonstrate the commitment of the MISA Foundation and that of our members to our industry", stated Bob Grote, Chairman of the MISA Foundation and CEO of Grote Company.  "The MISA Auction earlier this year generated record-setting donations, enabling us to recognize these extremely accomplished individuals. I personally want to congratulate all the winners and wish them continued success in their academic endeavors and careers. It should also be noted that none of this would be possible without the enthusiastic support of our members and the participants in the MISA Auction who donated and purchased auction items. Their generous contributions have made this possible."

David Seckman, President and CEO of the Food Processing Suppliers Association stated: "The MISA Scholarship is one of the cornerstones of our Association's Giving Back program. By way of these scholarships, MISA is committed to cultivating the future leaders of the meat industry. It is a pleasure to work with the students and the universities, knowing that the industry will benefit once these talented graduates enter the work force." 

Source: MISA