American Meat Science Association (AMSA) Professional and Emeritus members cast their votes for three new directors and a president-elect. The new board members will begin their terms at the end of the AMSA 2014 67th Reciprocal Meat Conference (RMC) in Madison, Wisconsin.

The new members to AMSA’s Board of Directors include:

President Elect:

  • Bucky Gwartney, USDA Agricultural Marketing Service


  • Gretchen Mafi, Oklahoma State University
  • Lauren Sammel, Oscar Mayer, Division of Kraft Foods
  • Dan Schaefer, Cargill

Robert Delmore (2013-14 President), Brad Morgan (2013-14 President Elect), Casey Frye Treasure and directors Betsy Booren (RMC 2014 Chair), Susan Shivas, John Stika, John Scanga, Steve Larsen and T. Dean Pringle (2015 RMC Chair) will continue their terms on the board. Scott Eilert, Ann Brackenridge, Jerry Cannon and Dana Hanson will conclude their terms on the board at the end of the AMSA 67th RMC.

“AMSA is in good hands with a high skilled group of individuals who are passionate about the meat science community,” said AMSA Executive Director Thomas Powell. “I look forward to working with this board in the coming year to create opportunities for our members to collaborate and excel in service to science and society.”

Source: AMSA