The American Meat Science Association’s (AMSA) new board members began their terms at the conclusion of the 2014 AMSA 67th Reciprocal Meat Conference (RMC) in Madison, Wisconsin.

“I look forward to working with this board in the coming year to create opportunities for our members to collaborate and excel in service to science and society” said AMSA Executive Director, Thomas Powell.

The new members to AMSA’s Board of Directors include:

President Elect:

·         Bucky Gwartney, USDA Agricultural Marketing Service


  • Gretchen Mafi, Oklahoma State University
  • Lauren Sammel, Oscar Mayer, Division of Kraft Foods
  • Dan Schaefer, Cargill (2016 RMC Chair)

Brad Morgan (2014-15 President), Robert Delmore (2014-15 Past President), Casey Frye Treasure and directors Betsy Booren, Susan Shivas, John Stika, John Scanga, Steve Larsen and T. Dean Pringle (2015 RMC Chair) will continue their terms on the board. Scott Eilert, Ann Brackenridge, Jerry Cannon and Dana Hanson concluded their terms on the board at the end of the AMSA 67th RMC.

“During the past few years I have been able to step back and reevaluate exactly AMSA brings to the table.  Questions like “what have we accomplished,” and “what has AMSA been able to deliver every day that makes it standout to its members?”  Following this past Reciprocal Meat Conference I must admit that we appear to finding our niche in that I believe the AMSA is becoming the premier science-based meat science community in the U.S. and internationally.  Obviously, the board and myself, along with the AMSA staff don’t want to rest on past accomplishments but continue to serve the meat industry in traditional and innovative ways in the coming year.  These are challenging as well as exciting times for the U.S. meat industry,” stated Brad Morgan, AMSA Board President.   

Source: AMSA