The Meat Industry Suppliers Alliance Foundation has awarded seven $10,000 scholarships that will be used towards completing the winners’ respective degrees within the meat sciences discipline. The scholarship winners are:

  • Emily Arkfeld, University of Illinois
  • Elizabeth Kopp, University of Wisconsin
  • Bo Hutto, Texas A&M University
  • Brian Patterson, Iowa State University
  • Emily Usinger, Iowa State University
  • Amanda Wilder, Kansas State University
  • Loni Woolley, Texas Tech University

“Our very successful dinner and auction held in conjunction with the FPSA Annual Conference in March of 2015 has allowed us to award $70,000 in scholarships”, stated Tom Hoffmann, Chairman of the MISA Foundation. “I want to congratulate all the winners and wish them continued success in their academic endeavors and careers. Additionally, I want to thank all of the participants in the MISA Auction, those who donated and purchased auction items. Their generous contributions has made this possible.”

David Seckman, President and CEO of the Food Processing Suppliers Association stated: “We really enjoy being a part of the process that contributes to the success of our future leaders in the meat industry. There is so much talent rising through the university systems, particularly in the fields of meat science, and the industry will benefit once these graduates enter the work force.”

About the MISA Foundation: The MISA Foundation is a non-profit tax-exempt organization formed to nurture, promote and develop state-of-the-art technology and technical information by furthering the education of meat and food science students.