The National Turkey Federation (NTF) Board of Directors has elected members of the 2016 Executive Committee during its February annual convention in Tucson, Arizona. John Reicks, Vice President of Internal Operations for Tyson Foods, Inc., was elected 2016 NTF chairman.

The Board also elected Carl Wittenburg, president of Protein Alliance, Inc., as vice-chairman; and Jeff Sveen of Dakota Provisions, as secretary-treasurer. Jihad Douglas, president of Aviagen Turkeys will stay on as Immediate Past Chairman.

John Reicks, a seasoned veteran of the meat and food industry for more than 45 years, began his career in his family’s meat business in Petersburg, Nebraska.  His experience spans several companies, notably more than 30 years with Sara Lee/Hillshire Brands, and now at Tyson Foods Inc.  as Vice President of Internal Operations. Reicks has been an active member of the National Turkey Federation for nine years and an Executive Committee member since 2008. He’s applied his expertise by leading the NTF Issues Management Committee, and for the past four years has co-chaired the Communications and Marketing Committee.  His guiding motto for success: “One Team, One Mission.”

Elections for open seats were held and John Neiman of Cargill Cooked Turkey and Meats and Ronnie Parker of Circle S Ranch were elected to the Executive Committee. The Board also reelected Executive Committee members John Burkel of Northern Pride, Inc.; Matthew Cook of Norbest; Gary Cooper of Cooper Farms; Kerry Doughty of Butterball, LLC; Ron Kardel of West Liberty Foods; Glenn Leitch of Jennie-O Turkey Store; and Phil Seger of Farbest Foods, Inc.

Executive Committee members appointed Jay Lieberman of Hain Pure Protein and Yubert Envia of Foster Farms as at-large members of the Executive Committee.

Source: NTF