Shareholders of Tyson Foods Inc. elected nine people to the company's Board of Directors, including seven independent directors. The vote was announced at Tyson's annual meeting of shareholders in Springdale, Ark.

Those elected were Chairman John Tyson, Kathleen M. Bader, Gaurdie E. Banister Jr., Jim Kever, Kevin M. McNamara, Brad T. Sauer, Robert Thurber, Barbara A. Tyson and Albert C. Zapanta.

In other business, shareholders reapproved the performance goals for the company's stock incentive plan and ratified the selection of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as the company's independent registered public accounting firm for the fiscal year ending September 29, 2012.

Source: Tyson Foods Inc.