Pictured at the Oct. 30, 2010, Meat Industry Hall of Fame induction ceremony are Class of 2010 members (from left to right) Ralph Cator, Cardinal Meat Specialists; Deven Scott, AMI and NAMP; Jeff Stratton, accepting for the Ray Kroc family and McDonald’s); Dick Farr, accepting for W.D. Farr of Farr Feeders; Joel Johnson, Hormel Foods; Dr. Roger Mandigo, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Robert Rust, Iowa State University; Dr. Jeff Savell, Texas A&M University; Ken Johnson, National Live Stock & Meat Board. Inductees not pictured include: Richard Bond, Tyson Foods; representatives for Col. Harland Sanders, Kentucky Fried Chicken; and representatives for Dave Thomas, Wendy’s Old-Fashioned Hamburgers.

In a black-tie ceremony held in conjunction with the North American Meat Processors Association’s Outlook Conference, the inductees, their presenters and guests spoke eloquently, and at times movingly, about their careers, the milestones they experienced and the camaraderie evident among the friends, family and colleagues present at the Oct. 30 ceremonies.

“This is a people business, and it is people who make the difference,” said Rosemary Mucklow, executive director emeritus of the National Meat Association, a charter member of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame and the evening’s keynote speaker. “I offer my congratulations to the distinguished members honored tonight, each of whom has left an imprint and a legacy on this industry.”

Chuck Jolley, president of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame, marveled at the accomplishments of this, the hall’s second class of inductees, and praised all members of the hall for their success.

“We’ll be asking our trustees and Hall of Fame members to nominate the class of 2011 in just a few months,” said Jolley. “I’m looking forward to seeing the next list of industry legends, and honoring them next fall.”

Dan Murphy, executive director of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame, noted the impressive cross-section of the industry’s leading executives and most accomplished researchers in the Class of 2010, as well as several icons of the American food industry.

“What is most notable is that these were people with a passion for this business, and a commitment to share their knowledge and energy in ways that advanced the quality, safety and success of all participants in the meat and poultry industry,” Murphy added.

The ceremonies concluded with an announcement by Jan Erik Kuhlman, president of Multivac and a Meat Industry Hall of Fame Trustee, that the Induction Ceremony for the Class of 2011 will return to Chicago’s Union Club—site of the inaugural ceremony last year—on Nov. 1, in conjunction Process Expo 2011, sponsored by the Food Processing Suppliers Association.

The complete list of Charter Members of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame Class of 2010 is:

Dave Thomas, founder of Wendy’s Old-Fashioned Hamburgers and lauded as “a man whose friendly face and kindly demeanor brought millions of families and kids into his restaurants for the food and fun that makes fast-food dining such a thoroughly American ritual.” (Posthumous award)

Deven Scott, former executive vice president of the North American Meat Processors Association, who received a spontaneous standing ovation in recognition of a long and influential career spent in serving the industry in positions at NAMP and at the American Meat Institute.

Col. Harland Sanders, founder of Kentucky Fried Chicken restaurant chain—with 15,000 outlets in 109 countries—and known for his white suits, string ties, “finger-lickin’ good” tagline and a lasting imprint on the entire fast-food industry. (Posthumous award)

Jeff Savell, Ph.D., regent’s professor and E. M. “Manny” Rosenthal Chair in Animal Science at Texas A&M University and well-known researcher and award-winning educator, who was recognized as someone who “contributed significantly to the betterment of the meat industry.”

Joel Johnson, former president, CEO and chairman of Hormel Foods whose leadership helped expand Hormel’s portfolio, improve its business performance and who was recognized as an executive “who succeeded at a level that was nothing short of remarkable.”

H. Kenneth Johnson, former vice president of the National Live Stock and Meat Board and credited with being “one of the first people to educate the industry about listening to consumers and developing more convenient products to meet their needs.”

Ralph Cator, founder and chairman of Mississauga, Ontario-based Cardinal Meat Specialists, a former NAMP president and the first Canadian inductee, and an innovator who built his company success on the idea that “no one of us is as smart as all of us.”

Ray Kroc, founder of the McDonald’s restaurant chain and a bona fide business legend who not only built a global fast-food empire but created numerous charitable foundations, including the Ronald McDonald House. (Posthumous award)

Richard Bond, former CEO and president of Tyson Foods and a highly regarded executive who implemented critical efficiency measures, helped lead the company into key global markets spurred a strategic commitment to creating more value-added products.

Robert E. Rust, professor emeritus, Department of Animal Science at Iowa State University and creator of the long-running and highly acclaimed Short Courses on meat processing that helped improve product quality and profitability for thousands of meat processors over the years.

Roger Mandigo, Ph.D., professor of Animal Science at the University of Nebraska and a renowned educator, researcher and industry advocate, who was lauded for his “career of service and accomplishment that benefitted his students and his colleagues.”

William D. “W.D.” Farr, founder of The Farr Company in Colorado and also a member of the Cattle Feeders Hall of Fame, he pioneered numerous advances in cattle feeding and beef production that are still in use decades after he first implemented them. (Posthumous award)