The North American Meat Institute (NAMI) Scholarship Foundation announced the recipients of its 2015-2016 undergraduate scholarship awards during a reception at the NAMI Annual Meeting and Outlook Conference in Washington, DC. Eight high-performing undergraduate students received a combined total of $20,000 to pursue degrees in animal, meat and food science, or in a culinary arts program. 

Laura Gorecki received the Frank DeBenedetti Memorial Scholarship to continue her studies in animal science and business at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.  Elizabeth Kopp, who is majoring in food science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, received the John Duyn award, while Erin Beyer, a meat and food science major at Texas Tech University, earned the Florence Smith Powers scholarship.  Brian Patterson was awarded the Al Piccetti scholarship to pursue his bachelor of animal science at Iowa State University and Ashley Moyna received the Robert Hatoff “Center of the Plate” Memorial Scholarship to advance her studies in culinary science and dietetics at Iowa State University.

Meanwhile, Cameron Anders Bardsley, food science major at Brigham Young University; Maggie Reynolds, animal and veterinary science and agribusiness major at University of Idaho; and Breanna Branderhorst, agricultural education major at Iowa State University each received NAMI Undergraduate Scholarships. 

“The Meat Institute Scholarship Foundation congratulates these exemplary students on their impressive record of academic achievement, leadership and service,” said NAMI Scholarship President Ron Gustafson of Coast Packing Co. in Vernon, California.  “These high-performing students represent the bright future of our industry and we hope the scholarships will help them achieve their academic and extracurricular goals.”     

The students also received funding to attend the Annual Meeting and Outlook Conference, and were given a plaque in recognition of their academic achievement.

Each year, the NAMI Scholarship Foundation awards scholarships to eligible sophomores, juniors and seniors attending accredited four-year colleges or universities who are enrolled in an approved animal, meat or food science degree or culinary arts program.  Award recipients must remain in good academic standing and maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.75 on a 4.0 scale.    

In addition to President Ron Gustafson, the Scholarship Foundation Board of Directors includes Mike Gangel, Birko-Chad Co.; Mike Satzow, North Country Smokehouse; Michael Strauss, industry consultant; and Jimmy Maxey, Certified Meat Products.   

The NAMI Scholarship Foundation is supported by Institute members and industry allies.  Donations, which are tax deductible, should be sent to NAMI Scholarship Foundation, 1970 Broadway Suite 825, Oakland, California 94612.

Source: NAMI