The North American Meat Institute (NAMI) Scholarship Foundation announced the recipients of its 2018-2019 undergraduate scholarship awards. Eleven high-performing undergraduate students received a combined total of $55,000 to pursue degrees in animal, meat and food science, and in culinary arts.

Katelyn Gaffield received the Frank DeBenedetti Memorial Scholarship to continue her studies at University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. University of Florida student Kylie Philipps received the John Duyn award, while LeAnna Tanner, a student at the University of Tennessee Knoxville, received the Florence Smith Powers scholarship. Abbie Uhlenkott was awarded the Al Piccetti scholarship to pursue her degree at University of Idaho. Westesha Neely received the Robert Hatoff “Center of the Plate” Memorial Scholarship to advance her studies at Johnson and Wales University – North Miami. In addition, Charley Rayfield, Oklahoma State University, received the newly-established Ron Gustafson Scholarship and Kory Anderson, University of Wisconsin, was awarded the Rosemary Mucklow Scholarship.

Meanwhile, Emma Mortensen, Texas Tech University; Conrad Schelkopf, Colorado State University; Emmy Bechtold, Oklahoma State University; and Macey Randig, Texas A&M University each received NAMI Merit Scholarships.

“The Meat Institute Scholarship Foundation congratulates these exemplary students on their impressive record of academic achievement, leadership and service,” said NAMI Scholarship Foundation President Mike Gangel of Birko-Chad Co. “These high-performing students represent the bright future of our industry and we hope the scholarships help them achieve their academic and extracurricular goals.”

Each year, the NAMI Scholarship Foundation awards scholarships to eligible sophomores, juniors and seniors attending accredited four-year colleges or universities who are enrolled in an approved animal, meat and food science or related degree or culinary arts program. Award recipients must remain in good academic standing and maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.75 on a 4.0 scale.

In addition to President Mike Gangel, the Scholarship Foundation Board of Directors includes Mike Satzow, North Country Smokehouse; Michael Strauss, industry consultant; Jimmy Maxey, Certified Meat Products; Ron Gustafson, Coast Packing Company; and Rosemary Mucklow, director emeritus of the North American Meat Institute.

The NAMI Scholarship Foundation is supported by Meat Institute members and industry allies. Donations, which are tax deductible, should be sent to NAMI Scholarship Foundation, 1150 Connecticut Ave., NW 12th Floor, Washington, D.C. 20036. Questions regarding the NAMI Scholarship Foundation can be directed to KatieRose McCullough, Ph.D., MPH at

Source: NAMI