The American Meat Science Association (AMSA) announced winners from the Eastern National Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest, hosted by Cargill, Wyalusing, Pennsylvania on October 18. Eighty-nine contestant representing 12 teams participated in the contest.

Top Individuals, Senior Division

  1. Brandt Mortensen, University of Wyoming
  2. Jesse Birney, Kansas State University
  3. Matthew Murdoch, Angelo State University
  4. Scott Anderson, University of Wyoming
  5. Jessie Heidlage, Oklahoma State University
  6. Danielle Freeman, Angelo State University
  7. Zachary Grimsley, Texas Tech University
  8. Baylee Bessire, Texas A&M University
  9. Cassidy Smith, University of Wyoming
  10. Jacqueline Ponce, Colorado State University

Top 5 Teams, Senior Division

  1. University of Wyoming
  2. Oklahoma State University
  3. Texas Tech University
  4. Angelo State University
  5. Colorado State University

Official committee members for the Eastern National contest included Chad Carr, Chair, University of Florida; Scott Howard, Cargill; Casey Mabry, Cargill; Henry Ruiz, Sealed Air's Cryovac; Laura Knighton, Sealed Air's Cryovac; Melissa Miller, University of Georgia and Darrell Dowd, USDA-AMS.

Source: AMSA