The North American Meat Institute (NAMI) Scholarship Foundation announced the recipients of its 2019-2020 undergraduate scholarship awards. Eleven high-performing undergraduate students received a combined total of $55,000 to pursue degrees in animal, meat and food science, and in culinary arts.

“The North American Meat Institute Scholarship Foundation congratulates the award recipients for their academic excellence and leadership in their field of study,” said NAMI Scholarship Foundation President Mike Gangel of Birko-Chad Co. “We are glad to support their efforts to learn about our industry and look forward to their contributions to our work to provide safe and wholesome meat and poultry to the world.”

The following students are the 2019-2020 Scholars:

The Frank DeBenedetti Scholar
LeAnna Tanner, University of Tennessee Knoxville, Food Science and Technology

The John Duyn Scholar
Jacob David Manternach, Iowa State University, Food Science

The Florence Smith Powers Scholar
Conrad Schelkopf, Colorado State University, Animal Science

The Al Piccetti Scholar
Nicole Machuca, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Dairy Science

The Robert Hatoff “Center of the Plate” Memorial Scholar
Westesha Neely, Johnson & Wales University, Culinary Arts & Food Service Management

The Ron Gustafson Scholar
Colton Smith, Texas Tech University, Food Science

The Rosemary Mucklow Scholar
Brittany Shipp, Texas A&M University, Animal Science and Ag. Comm. and Journalism

NAMI Merit Scholar
Hannah Williams, Kansas State University, Animal Sciences and Industry

Connor McKinzie, Texas Tech University, Animal Science – Meat Business

Becca Grimes, West Texas A&M University, Animal Science

Merrick Irvin, Texas A&M University, Animal Science

For information on each of the scholarships please visit

Each year, the NAMI Scholarship Foundation awards scholarships to eligible sophomores, juniors and seniors attending accredited four-year colleges or universities who are enrolled in an approved animal, meat or food science degree or culinary arts program. Award recipients must remain in good academic standing and maintain a cumulative grade point average of 2.75 on a 4.0 scale.    

In addition to President Mike Gangel, the Scholarship Foundation Board of Directors includes Mike Satzow, North Country Smokehouse; Michael Strauss, industry consultant; Jimmy Maxey, Certified Meat Products; Ron Gustafson, Coast Packing Company; and Rosemary Mucklow, Director Emeritus of the North American Meat Institute.   

The NAMI Scholarship Foundation is supported by Meat Institute members and industry allies. Donations, which are tax deductible, should be sent to NAMI Scholarship Foundation, 1150 Connecticut Ave., NW 12th Floor, Washington, D.C. 20036.  Questions regarding the NAMI Scholarship Foundation can be directed to KatieRose McCullough, Ph.D., MPH at

Source: NAMI