People News

Peter Samson has joined Cozzini Inc. as executive vice president. This new position centralizes responsibility and accountability of engineering, product development/commercialization, operations, purchasing, inventory and logistics functions. Samson previously held operational and leadership positions with Oscar Mayer/Kraft, ConAgra and Pechiney Plastic Packaging.
Jarrod Miller, MS, of Food Safety Net Services, has become the first individual to complete all phases of training under the meat plant welfare auditor certification program sponsored by the Professional Animal Auditor Certification Organization. He is now a fully certified PAACO meat plant animal welfare auditor. PAACO is an organization of five animal industry organizations, and its purpose is to promote the humane treatment of animals through education and certification of animal auditors, as well as to promote the profession of animal auditors.
Nathaniel Carter has joined Meyn America LLC as a warehouse and parts specialist. He is responsible for the shipping and receiving of parts. Additionally, Bob Bayne has joined Meyn as a shop mechanic. He rebuilds equipment and performs building maintenance.
Tracey Welliver has joined Risco USA as Southwest territory manager, operating out of an office in Carrollton, Texas. He has previously worked for two of the largest equipment suppliers to the meat industry. Risco also hired John Alexander as Southeastern sales manager. He previously worked for the company as a field technician for five years before retiring due to a back injury.
Seven new members of the American Meat Association (AMI) Board of Directors have been elected to three-year terms. They are: David Brown, president and CEO of Formax Inc.; Mel Coleman, chairman of Coleman Natural Foods; Gary Cooper, vice president and COO of Cooper Farms; Karl Deily, vice president, marketing food packaging of Cryovac Division, Sealed Air Corp.; Nick Meriggioli, group vice president and president, North American Convenient Meals Sector of Kraft Foods; Rick Hoffman, CEO of Triumph Foods, and Scott Scriven, president and CEO of Weber Inc. Additionally, Meriggioli, Bill Barnette III, vice president of Carolina Pride Foods, and Jim Ransom, president of Curwood Inc., were elected to the AMI’s Executive Committee to serve one-year terms. The AMI also elected six officers to guide the organization for next year. They are: Richard Bond, president and CEO of Tyson Foods Inc., chairman; David Miniat, president of Ed Miniat Inc., vice chairman; Rod Brenneman, president and CEO of Seaboard Foods, treasurer; Jeffrey Ettinger, president and CEO of Hormel Foods Corp., secretary; Robert “Bo” Manley, executive vice president of Smithfield Foods Inc., immediate past chairman, and J. Patrick Boyle, who was re-elected to serve as president and CEO of the AMI for the 18th year.